Facebook

How to Deactivate a Facebook account

Facebook has become an integral part of everyone’s lives due to the phenomenon called social networking. One can argue that the biggest thing to happen to social media and social  networking is Facebook, and they would be right. Whats more is that the company has cemented its feet into the social scene further after the recent acquisitions of Instagram and WhatsApp, making it also one of the most rounded out platforms on the internet and a content creator’s paradise.

If you want to take a break from social media, then Facebook has the right solution for you. You see, there are two alternatives you can exercise.

  1. Deactivate the Account
  2. Delete the Account

If you choose to delete the account, then Facebook does just that. Your username is gone, the media is gone, saved pages and content, everything is basically wiped out, so when you decide to come back to social media after your break, you have to essentially start from scratch.

The other more mild solution is to deactivate the account. This puts your account on temporary hold, and when you decide to end your hiatus from social media, all you have to do is log back into your account and you are set.

In this tutorial, we will show you how to deactivate a Facebook account.

Step 1. Open the web browser on your PC/Laptop.

Step 2. In the URL bar, type in www.facebook.com.

 

disable Facebook

 

Step 3. Sign in to your Facebook account.

 

How to Deactivate a Facebook account

 

Step 4. Tap on the little triangle icon on the top right hand side of the Facebook Home page.

ALSO READ  How to type in Italics on WhatsApp

 

How to Deactivate a Facebook account

 

Step 5. From the drop down menu, click on the ‘Settings‘ button.

 

How to Deactivate a Facebook account

 

Step 6. From the Left pane, click on the ‘Your Facebook Information‘ option.

 

How to Deactivate a Facebook account

 

Step 7. In the right hand side pane, click on the ‘Deactivation and Deletion‘ option.

 

How to Deactivate a Facebook account

 

Step 8. Choose the ‘Deactivate Account‘ option and click on the ‘Continue to Account Deactivation‘ button.

 

deactivate an account on Facebook

 

Step 9. Fill in the Account Deactivation form and then click on the ‘Deactivate‘ button.

 

How to Deactivate a Facebook account

 

Your account will now be deactivated with immediate effect. This status will remain until you decide that you are ready for social media again. After that, it’s just a matter of logging again into your account and you can continue right where you left off.