Facebook is the largest social media platform in the world. Over the years, Facebook has claimed dominion over the social media space by providing users with a very personalised and immersive experience, which has been taken to another level with their recent acquisition of Whatsapp and Instagram. Together, the three apps form the unbeatable social media trio, and no matter how many social media apps have come into the market, none have been able to stand up to this deadly combination.

Adding friends on Facebook is very easy, but also carries risks of its own. There have been many cases if identity theft where hackers or haters take access of someone’s account and start harassing you. In such cases, the first thing you should do is to block the user.

In this tutorial, we will show you how you can block someone on Facebook.

Case 1. On the Computer

Step 1. Open your web browser and type in www.facebook.com in the URL bar.

 

 

Step 2. Log in to your Facebook account using the correct credentials.

 

Step 3. In the search bar, type in the name of the person you want to block from your Facebook Friend list.

 

 

Step 4. Click on the profile of the person you want to block from the search results.

 

 

Step 5. Click on the ‘Three-Dot‘ button next to the profile photo of the user.

 

 

Step 6. Click on the Block button in the drop down menu.

 

 

Step 7. In the window that appears, click on the ‘Confirm‘ button to confirm the block.

 

 

The contact will no longer be able to search for you, contact you, or view any of your media on Facebook.

Case 2. On the mobile app

Step 1. Download and Install the Facebook mobile app (iOS and Android supported).

 

 

Step 2. Type in the name of the person you want to block in the ‘Search Facebook‘ bar.

 

 

Step 3. Click on their profile to view their Facebook profile page.

 

 

Step 4. Click on the ‘Three Dot‘ button next to the profile photo of the user.

 

 

Step 5. Click on the ‘Block‘ button.

 

 

Step 6. In the new window, tap on the ‘Block‘ button to confirm the block.

 

 

The user will now be blocked from interacting with you on Facebook.