How to properly create a new user on a Mac

How to properly create a new user on a Mac

Like other computers, the Mac allows several people to share a single machine. This is useful if you have a large family and only one Mac computer or laptop. You can create individual profiles for each family member and control which files (if any) they have access to. You, as the administrator, have the option of giving them all a fresh start with access to only their personal files.

In an age where data security is critical, Mac’s user creation system allows you complete control over the tiniest elements that you may configure to create user profiles that meet your privacy and security requirements.

Open the ‘System Preferences‘ app on the Mac/Macbook.

 

How to add a new User on a Mac

 

In the system preferences menu, click on the ‘User and Groups‘ button.

 

How to properly create a new user on a Mac

 

Now, click on the lock icon at the bottom of the screen and enter your password to unlock the settings.

 

How to properly create a new user on a Mac

 

Once unlocked, click on the ‘+‘ button.

 

How to properly create a new user on a Mac

 

Enter the details of the new user, including the name, and also choose whether the user had admin rights or not.

ALSO READ  How often are Google Earth images updated?
Once you are done, click on the ‘Create User‘ button.

 

How to properly create a new user on a Mac

 

This will create the new user profile and your family members or friends or colleagues can now log into their user profile on your Mac if they need to use it for their tasks. Your data will be safely stored on your profile and other users on the Mac will have no access to the same unless you authorize it.

If a certain user profile is no longer required, you can always delete it from your user profile as well. You have to follow the same procedure mentioned above, but instead of pressing the ‘+’ key, you have to click on the ‘-‘ key. Finally, make sure that you click not the Lock icon once you are done creating the user profiles. this will lock the changes and as such, no one will be able to change anything unless you unlock the settings again.

No votes yet.
Please wait...