Meaning – The word delete means ‘to remove’, and in the context of computers, it refers to the choice made by the user, that results in the removal of file or folders from the computer. At first, the deleted files head into the recycle bin, from where the user may even choose to restore them if he/she needs those files again. However, once the recycle bin has been cleared, there is no way of getting back the deleted files.

There are some applications where the delete command does not ask for confirmation, and simply removes the requested file. In such cases, it is advisable to think long and hard before committing to the deletion.

The delete operation is mainly performed when the file is no longer required, and must be removed to release some much needed storage space on the system.

Example of usage“As she did not need the software anymore, she decided to delete it and make room for another package on her computer.”