Ikea and Electrify America have joined together to build over 200 public fast chargers across 18 states

Ikea and Electrify America have joined together to build over 200 public fast chargers across 18 states

Prepare for the quickest Ikea shop visit yet, since Electrify America is introducing its rapid charging EV network to more than 25 Ikea sites in the United States.

The proposal calls for the installation of more than 220 individual fast chargers capable of charging at rates of up to 350kW at Ikea locations in 18 different states. The first public charges will be available by the end of the year, with the remainder available by the end of 2023.

Ikea is also collaborating with Electrify America’s commercial division to install an additional 225 individual chargers at essential corporate locations to support its electric delivery goals. Along with the public stations, Ikea hopes to provide additional incentives for its customers and workers to use electric cars. Beginning in 2011, the Swedish furniture firm placed Blink Level 2 charging stations at several Ikea stores.

The agreement is the latest in a series of collaborations between charging station suppliers and traditional companies. Volvo and ChargePoint revealed earlier this year that charging stations would be placed at Starbucks locations in five states, while GM said last month that it is establishing a coast-to-coast charging network at Pilot and Flying J truck stops. The Biden administration issued new rules in June to states for awarding EV infrastructure contracts to firms that make charging simple, inexpensive, and accessible to the public.

In North America, Electrify America, a charging division of the Volkswagen car group, now runs over 800 stations with over 3,500 fast charging connections. The extra 25-plus Ikea stations are simply a drop in the bucket compared to the company’s ambition of installing 1,000 more stations by 2026. The following states will soon have Ikea Electrify America stations: Arizona, California, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Washington state.

No votes yet.
Please wait...