Facebook

How to deactivate your Facebook Account

Facebook has become an integral part of everyone’s lives due to the phenomenon called social networking. One can argue that the biggest thing to happen to social media and social  networking is Facebook, and they would be right. Whats more is that the company has cemented its feet into the social scene further after the recent acquisitions of Instagram and WhatsApp, making it also one of the most rounded out platforms on the internet and a content creator’s paradise.

However, the seemingly harmless platform has its own dark side and after multiple reports of addiction, cyber bullying and data security breach, many aside Facebook users have started going off the platform.

If you are one of those people who want to take a break or leave the platform altogether, read on.

In this tutorial, we will show you how to deactivate your Facebook Account.

Step 1. Open the web browser on your PC/Laptop.

Step 2. In the URL bar, type in www.facebook.com.

 

disable Facebook

 

Step 3. Sign in to your Facebook account.

 

How to deactivate your Facebook Account

 

Step 4. Tap on the little triangle icon on the top right hand side of the Facebook Home page.

 

How to deactivate your Facebook Account

 

Step 5. From the drop down menu, click on the ‘Settings‘ button.

 

How to deactivate your Facebook Account

 

Step 6. In the left pane, click on the ‘Your Facebook Information‘ option.

 

How to deactivate your Facebook Account

 

Step 7. Now, from the right side window, click on the ‘Deactivation and Deletion‘ option.

 

How to deactivate your Facebook Account

 

Step 8. In the next window, choose the ‘Deactivate Account‘ option.

ALSO READ  How to find motherboard model Windows 10

 

How to deactivate your Facebook Account

 

Step 9. Click on the ‘Continue to Deactivation‘ option.

 

How to deactivate your Facebook Account

 

Step 10. Fill in the Deactivation form and then click on the ‘Deactivate button‘.

 

How to deactivate your Facebook Account

 

Your Facebook account will now be deactivated. This will remove your presence on the Facebook platform including all your photos and media. You can still keep using the Messenger app if you want to .